Dr. Kathryn Eagles is a flutist and educator from Fairbanks, Alaska. She holds both a BM and MA from the University of Alaska Fairbanks, and a Doctor of Musical Arts degree from the University of Colorado Boulder. Her primary teachers include Dorli McWayne and Christina Jennings. In addition to her studies at the university, she has participated in masterclasses and lessons with Hilary Abigana from The Forth Wall, John Barcellona, Nicole Esposito, Dr. Naomi Seidman, Lisa Garner Santa, Lorna McGhee, Claire Chase, and Carol Wincenc.

As an orchestral flutist, Dr. Eagles regularly performs with the Cheyenne Symphony Orchestra, the Longmont Symphony Orchestra, Mahlerfest Colorado, and can be heard on the newest live Indigo Girls album, playing second flute and piccolo. Additionally, she held the positions of Assistant Principal Flute and Piccolo with the Fairbanks Symphony Orchestra for many years.

An avid chamber musician, Eagles has a profound interest in both contemporary and classical repertoire for the flute. Eagles’s duo, The Midnight Sun Two, is finishing their debut album: From Light to Dark. This album consists of new chamber works for flute and percussion, from composers Emerson Eads (Alaska), Lucus Oikle (Canada), Olivia Kieffer (USA), John Drumheller (USA), Molly Joyce (USA), and Derek Charke (Canada). Additionally, Eagles has performed chamber music at the Embassy of Finland in Washington D.C., the National Flute Association Conventions, and the Gumi International Music Festival in Gumi, South Korea.

Dr. Eagles is an adjunct lecturer at the University of Alaska Fairbanks, and the Flute Instructor at Denver Community College, the Parlando School of Musical Arts, and Rocky Ridge Music Academy. Additionally, she maintains an active private studio, teaches chamber music at MSU Denver’s Summer Flute Institute, and served as the interim flute faculty at Regis University in Denver, Colorado. Eagles is a certified instructor with the Suzuki Association of the Americas, a member of the National Flute Association, and currently, she is the President of the Colorado Flute Association.